A First/Epiphanies on Six Acts (091718)

I.

sitting in the bus

waiting for this to go because I know that I will be in trouble for staying the night for too long

I thought we put an end on it,

finalized,

closed,

thus I became oversentimental of everything

immediately tomorrow that night

was the day I will see you for the first time,

trying not to assume anything, lowering expectations

(but let us not kid here, I wanted it, I just know it is a blur)

and here we are, in the same room

tenSION in the air

looming

we say goodbyes

anti-climactic

realized that putting all those build-up from seven months

that less than five minutes spending with you is a fucking joke

so I tried to reach out,

and we did

II.

trying to find the fastest way to get to you

circled around the whole lot

it is ten p.m.

I need to go back soon, shouldn’t I?

but I am stubborn,

I want to see you.

I NEED to see you.

and after more than half an hour,

decided I will take the short way to you

and so I did.

III.

INT. EVENING. Your Room

we say hi and hellos

awkwardness

tension

still, we anchor from seven months, we ought to have something

and we did!

how do we spend the time in less than an hour?

watch films, listen to music, eat cheesedogs

I told you from the start that I am here for cuddles and I laugh,

I keep trying,

and you accepted it

my arms around you;

fingers easily intertwining despite my damp palms;

your head made my body its pillow;

our cheeks touching together,

I was comfortable with it,

you were too

it is fine

IV.

it is time to sleep

I already accepted the fact that I will not be going home anytime soon,

so we slept—

or at least we tried

i told you about random stories of bands and Youtube videos

I cannot sleep,

you cannot too

you are giving me hints that I was not entirely oblivious about but decided not to because what if i am assuming wrong?

spent more or less than half an hour looking at each other’s eyes, our faces touching

our lips already touched each others’ cheeks and forehead

one thing was missing,

you have been hinting,

I keep thinking,

“Is this even the right time?”

a peck,

and you went for it

it was sloppy but not manufacturing

I needed to breathe,

and dove once again

I cannot believe I am doing this,

I was being rational a few seconds ago and now I’m kissing someone’s face

breathes

stops

“I was sloppy.”

I know.

she said it’s okay,

but i am ashamed

still tried

and tried

with pauses on breathing

switched positions

and tried to sleep

V.

five am

I am on your bed

I am wearing your clothes

morning

we spent the night in deep caresses

criss-crossing legs

holding hands

butterfly kisses

and now we are awake

you fought with yourself over sleeping and not sleeping after making us breakfast

you slept,

you woke up

i planted kisses once again

i did what i wanted to do, what i told you earlier

you became inquisitive

i said yes

full throttle

articles of clothing flying everywhere

pillows and cellphones are being pushed to the floor

the bedsheet needs fixing again

butterfly kisses all over

no need for diving kits,

snorkled my way in

(if ever you are going to do it,

fucking commit)

traversed wherever I can go

asked you multiple times

stop

exchange of pleasure

rolled over

foreign feelings

(lowkey impressed with myself)

boom

stop

water break

panting

exchange

I scoured through the depths once again

I am a disappointment this time

slowly freaking out

encouraged her, to no avail

still, I tried to do

I tried to be good

I tried nonetheless.

VI.

water splashing

quiet

brushed hair

I am exerting much effort again,

she’s disappointed, I know

still,

over the rainshower

we stayed

got out

she does not want me to go

I need to go,

I overstayed my welcome

I disappointed her,

(hopefully though I did not even though I know I did)

still it was nice.

we gone down

I left,

when will I see her again once more?

Would the wonders of ones and zeroes be back?

Or is the risky, material world better?

[Encore.]

Now thinking whether it was the right thing to do. I sometimes hate being rational (though I am very emotional) because I think too much.

I was doing it with her, I was thinking about her while the whole thing is happening.

Yet, when she had slept—my arms around her and hers around me—there was someone else.

Epiphanies.

Afterwords.

Alternate endings.

What could have beens.

Considering how I believed on such a complicated standard on defining firsts,

I did, that was it,

And I liked it.

I like it.

But do we hurt people because of what we like?

Or is it hypocritical even?

[Exit stage.]

[FIN.]

Leave a comment